The Evangelical Church of Christ, or "red church", was built in 1905-1907 in the style of the Dutch Renaissance. Like many Protestant churches in Central Europe, it was once owned by German Protestants until the Second World War.
The Cathedral of Città della Pieve can boast of its ancient origins. The first cathedral dates back to the 4th-5th centuries. It was replaced by a Romanesque building in the 8th century, itself rebuilt in Gothic style in the 13th century. Only a few traces of these early interventions remain in the present church, which dates back to the 16th and 17th centuries when it became the cathedral of the diocese. The side chapels and the bell tower next to the building date from this period.
This church is a former collegiate church, first built in the 17th century, then raised to the rank of collegiate church in the 18th century by Pope Benedict VI. It underwent a lot of work and renovations in the 19th century, such as the pediment on the main façade. The apse and the triumphal arch are decorated with magnificent neo-classical paintings, dating from the 19th century.
The church of St. Wenceslas was built in the 13th century in the Gothic style. It is a three-nave building with adjacent chapels and a Gothic tower ending in later Renaissance ramparts. From 1997 to 2004, the building underwent a major reconstruction.
The church of San Francesco was built in the 13th century as a monastery church dedicated to San Fortunato. The chapel on the right, dedicated to St. Anthony, was added during the seventeenth century and decorated with precious frescoes by the painters Antonio and Francesco Nasini. The bell tower that rises on the rear right side of the church was destroyed by lightning and raised in 1926 by the architect Lorenzo Porciatti.
The Cathedral of St. Michael, one of the oldest cathedrals in Hungary, was founded in the 10th century by Gisela of Hungary, thus naming the city of Veszprém "city of queens".
First mention of the church in the 11th century, work was undertaken in the 14th century following the war. In the 10th century, the nave is again undergoing work. Finally, in the XVIIth century, the facade is reworked but keeps its flamboyant gothic style.
The church of the Bigi, consecrated in 1634, is annexed to the convent of the Poor Clares, of which it was the building of worship. Following the suppression of the religious congregations by the Grand Duke in 1787, the convent was closed. In 1796 the church was assigned to the Compagnia dei Santi Ludovico e Gherardo and began to be known as the "Church of the Bigi" because of the grey colour of the congregation's clothing. After a long decline of the congregation, the church was finally deconsecrated at the beginning of the 20th century, and is now used for cultural activities and initiatives.
The Cathedral of Grosseto was built between 1294 and 1302 by the Sienese architect Sozzo di Rustichino, on an old parish church. The cathedral was rebuilt in Renaissance and Baroque style and was finally remodelled in neo-Medieval style between 1840 and 1865. The façade of the building dates from this last remodelling.
The chapel was built around 1420 as a late gothic central building. It is considered a replica of the Holy Sepulchre in Jerusalem, with a central column and star vault. Originally there were about 31 of these chapels in Pomerania.
Religiana, a project by Future for Religious Heritage, presents a catalogue of beatiful and inspiring buildings, helping you experience Europe's history, today!
Click here to add your building to the Religiana catalogue
St. Martin's Church, Landshut