The construction of the synagogue of Asti was carried out in two phases, the first in 1786 and the second in 1889. This brick building in baroque and neo-classical style is now used as a museum.
The Cathedral of Santa Maria delle Grazie was built in the 1920s on top of an old 15th-century church, rebuilt in the 19th century. Unfortunately, this old church was completely destroyed by Italian shells during the First World War. The sacred building and the bell tower were therefore rebuilt between 1919 and 1923 to a design by the Venetian architect Giuseppe Torres.
Originally built in the name of St. Gerardus Majella 1924-1925, this church was built by the architect Ed. Cuypers and was nicknamed the "Fisherman's Church". It was originally established as a so-called "folk church" with a very wide nave. It has a large extension choir and transept which was built in 1958-1959. This extension was demolished again in 1997, however.
The foundation of a second parish church had long been a wish of the church board of the parish of Maria Immaculate Conception (Grote Kerk). In 1919 the church board decided M.O.O. to purchase some large plots of land in the De Hoef district, located between Kromstraat and Amsteleindstraat. These areas were later transferred in ownership to the new board of the H. Hartparochie. The required capital was partly raised by donations from a few well-to-do parishioners, including from the Jurgens firm, which gave rise to the nickname 'Butter Church'. The rest of the huge sum of money was obtained through loans. The well-known Bossche architect Jan van der Aalst designed the church and rectory.
It is a church built in neo-Gothic style, which was designed by H.J. from Tulder. The church, with a striking spireless tower, was built in 1857-1859. The ground pattern is a cruciform basilica with a three-aisled transept and ambulatory. The church replaced the medieval Willibrordus Church, which was located on the same site. Near the church is the Triumphal Maria flanked by two angels memorial, which was founded in 1894 by pastor-dean Arnoldus van de Laar. In 1976 the church was included in the Monuments Register as a national monument.
The Saint-Pierre-aux-Liens chapel of Mont-Sabot, listed as a Historical Monument, is located in Neuffontaines, Burgundy-Franche-Comté. First built in the 12th century on the hill of Mont Sabot, it was completely rebuilt in the 15th or 16th century. The arcades of a side chapel and one of the windows illustrate the local legend of the "Goat and the Wolf".
At the end of the 19th century, the village was repeatedly hit by floods. Even the church was flooded. In the year 1892 the building was enlarged by the construction of a new transept and the present choir. The baptistery was added in 1937 on the occasion of the silver festival of priests of pastor van de Kamp.
This impressive church is a mixture of different styles and periods. Today desacralized, it is the testimony of the religious history of the city. Visitors can enter the church through a sublime porch, whose tympanum and vaults bear witness to the magnificence of Gothic architecture.
The Tower-like synagogue in Úštĕk is an Ashkenazi synagogue built between 1791 and 1794. The synagogue was rebuilt in 1851 and between 1993 and 2003. In use until 1938, this brick synagogue is now a museum.
The abbey was destroyed in 1567 at the beginning of the Wars of Religion, partially rebuilt in 1630 before being razed to the ground to the ground to the crypt in 1793. The crypt extended as far as under the eastern high altar and is 30 m wide. Dating is uncertain, but first mention of the crypt in 1079.
Religiana, a project by Future for Religious Heritage, presents a catalogue of beatiful and inspiring buildings, helping you experience Europe's history, today!
Click here to add your building to the Religiana catalogue
St. Martin's Church, Landshut