Chapel of St. Michael

The Saint-Michael chapel is located in the picturesque 13th-century castle of Orava. After his family obtained ownership of the castle in 1556, Juraj Thurzo (1567-1616), a fervent Protestant, was the one who endowed it with the Chapel of St Michael. The richly decorated baroque interior houses the tombs of the Thurzo family. Nationalised after the Second World War, Orava Castle is now a museum and its chapel hosts traditional concerts.

About this building

Other nearby buildings

Kohei Shiraishi/Flickr

Church of All Saints of Tvrdošín

The wooden church of Tvrdošín dates back to the second half of the 15th century. Rebuilt in the Renaissance style in the 17th century, its furniture is dominated by baroque elements that can be found in the altar at the end of the 17th century.

By Miro Svorc - Praca własna, CC BY-SA 4.0,

Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross, Lake Orava

The former Roman-Catholic Church of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross, built in the 18th and 19th centuries, is the only building preserved after the construction of the Orava dam in 1953 and the flooding of the whole Orava valley. At present, this Classicist church houses a permanent exhibition of Orava folk art, sculptures and paintings and festive concerts are occasionally organised there.