Notre-Dame de Scourmont is a Trappist abbey built in the second half of the 19th century. The priory was founded in 1850 and elevated to the rank of abbey in 1871. In 1863, a brewery was established in the abbey and in 1876, the Trappist monks began to produce hard cheese from the milk from their farm.
Notre-Dame-de-Saint-Rémy de Rochefort Abbey, generally known as Rochefort Abbey, is a Trappist abbey founded in 1230, secularized in 1792 during the French Revolution, the abbey was returned to a monastic community in Achel Abbey in 1887. The abbey is known for its brewery, in operation since 1889, and its Trappist beers.
Petrus (Peerke) Donders was born in Tilburg on October 27, 1809. He worked as a missionary among lepers in Surinam. Around 1900 his worship arose in Tilburg. The people of Tilburg saw in him someone with whom they could identify. In 1982 Peerke Donders was beatified. On the northern edge of Tilburg (220,000 inhabitants), the Peerke Donders Park is a popular place of pilgrimage with a birthplace, chapel, park and a museum that opened in 2009.
The Synagogue in Meerssen is an Ashkenazi synagogue completed in 1853. The synagogue was restored after 1977. This brick building now serves as a cultural centre.
The synagogue near the market was consecrated in the year 1875. The side wall of the building is provided with buttresses situated in between rounded arched windows. The front façade is topped by three turrets and contains the Stone Tablets with Roman numerals above a small rounded arched window. The Jewish community of Geertruidenberg ceased to exist in 1947. Two years later, the building was sold to the municipality and was transformed into a fire brigade garage. During this time, the large entrance gate was added in the front façade which can still be seen. The interior of the building was drastically renovated in 1980 which now serves as an office building.
The majestic Geertruidskerk is located in the fortified town of Geertruidenberg and is situated on one of the largest historical market squares in the Netherlands, lined with centuries old lime trees. Here you can experience and taste the past in Holland's oldest city!
The church of Saint-Martin, completed in the early 18th century, is one of the few remaining Baroque monuments in northern France. Before this church stood a Romanesque church dating from the thirteenth century which burned down in the seventeenth century. In 1794, the first Chappe telegraph, linking Lille to Paris, was installed on the platform of the tower until 1846.
The Sainte-Benoîte church is located in Lerzy, in the Hauts-de-France region. This fortified church was built in the late twelfth century. The bell tower remains from this time, and is listed as a historical monument. The building, in its current form, dates from the 16th and 17th centuries. On March 11, 2014, a fire destroyed the roof and caused extensive interior damage. Note the classified burial slab of Louis de Fournier, the Lord of Lerzy, who died in 1756.
The construction began in 1119, although there are earlier traces, with the consecration of the altar by Calixtus II. Several waves of work followed one another until the 18th century, leading to modifications to the cathedral. It was finally restored in the 19th century.
The Synagogue in Ostend is an Ashkenazi synagogue built in 1910-11 by architect Joseph De Lange. This stone building still serves as a synagogue.
Religiana, a project by Future for Religious Heritage, presents a catalogue of beatiful and inspiring buildings, helping you experience Europe's history, today!
Click here to add your building to the Religiana catalogue
Church of Christ Pantocrator