The exact date of the construction of the Church of St. Nicholas is uncertain. However, there is evidence that the church existed in the first half of the 14th century. The monastery to which the church belonged was destroyed in 1844 by the Arnauts (Albanians).
The monastery of St. Nicholas is an Orthodox monastery whose date of foundation is unknown. However, we know that renovations took place in the 14th century. The monastery is known as much for its Byzantine architecture as for its picturesque location.
The Hussein-Shah Mosque was built by Hussein Shah in the middle of the 16th century. Construction began in 1553 and was completed in 1566. The mosque has been damaged several times. First during the fire of Skopje by the Habsburg army in 1689, then during the Bulgarian occupation during the Second World War, as well as during the Skopje earthquake. After that, a number of conservation efforts were undertaken, which considerably changed the appearance of the mosque.